Stretched

Standard

Scrounging around my computer for a document to send to a friend and I stumbled on some old writings from a couple years back.  Love how God puts things in our path for us to hear in a seemingly random, yet I know it’s not-so-random, way.  This is what I found.  And honestly, I think I need to be reminded of this truth more now than when I originally wrote it.  Anyways.  Thought I’d share.  Especially in case there is anyone out there who needs to be reminded of who you really are.  Because it can be easy to lose sight of in this crazy, crazy, not-my-home world.

 

Stretched

There are days when I feel as though I am stretched out as far as I can go without completely breaking. Like that rubbery piece of cheese that strings out between your lips and the hot pizza slice – growing ever so thin and wispy the further you pull it, until it finally breaks in two. Sometimes the day feels as though it is always on the verge of that split.

 I am a mother, which means I am everything to everyone. The snack provider, the laundry cleaner, the spill picker-upper, the story time teller, the milk giver, the time-out punisher, the grocery list maker, the nursery song singer, the scraped knee kisser…..I am it all. And this is just for the babes. I am also a wife and a daughter and a friend and a sister and a granddaughter and a neighbor and a stranger. And of course those titles come with their own list of chores.

 But truly, in the end, amidst all the chaos and stretching, I am just me. Because the truth is this – I really am not everything to everyone. Never have been, never want to be. Or pretend to be.

 At the end of the day I am His. I am just a sinner. A redeemed sinner. A white-as-snow sinner. I am a daughter to the King. A treasure to my Savior. He nourishes me when I am tired of nourishing everyone else. He cleans my spirit when I am tired of dealing with all the messes. He loves me when I am tired of loving the world.

 It is His relentless love that keeps me from breaking on those days I feel so stretched. And for this I am thankful.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

