What the heck was I thinking??!!

Standard

Those are the words that have been running through my head over the past two months.  You see, sometime around November of last year I got this crazy idea in my head.  Masochistic, really.  This idea to run a half marathon for my 30th birthday (b/c who doesn’t want to enter their 4th decade in a lot of pain and soreness??). Like in a 13.1 miles half marathon.  As in “no-one-in-their-right-mind-should-ever-run-this-far-unless-the-Texas-chainsaw-murderer-is-chasing-them” kind of marathon.  Basically it’s a “what the heck was I thinking??!!” kind of idea.

Originally I wanted to get it done right before I turned 30, but there were none nearby around those dates.  Instead, I found one the weekend after my bday and quickly registered for it.  So now instead of doing it before I hit 30, it will be the first big thing I do in my 30s!  All about perspective! 🙂  But like the awesome procrastinator I am, I waited until the last minute to really make the leap, sign up, and fork over $40 to register.  You are “suppose” to give yourself about 12 weeks to train for a half.  I decided 8 weeks would be enough. I mean, who really needs that extra month anyways? (only smart, well-prepared people who don’t like to torture their bodies I guess.)

So here I am 2 days away from the race and I’m uber-duper nervous.  Whatever uber-duber means.  But like a good Vegas gambler, I’m trying to weigh it out and predict the odds of me actually finishing the race alive.  So here it is:

  • CON – I took a short training schedule (8 weeks) and whittled it down even more by injuring my foot and not running at all for 2 full weeks.  Apparently when you start to seriously train, cheap Kohls sneakers that you’ve been running in for the past 5 years (literally) aren’t quiet up to snuff for the mileage you’re now putting on your feet.  Luckily my parents came to the rescue and bought me a decent pair for my birthday.  They are Brooks shoes, pink, and compared to my old shoddy pair, I pretty much feel like I can fly when I’m wearing these.  And my feet don’t hurt anymore!  Woo-hoo!  Right equipment makes all the difference.  Just wish I hadn’t missed 2 weeks of training to learn that lesson. 😦
  • PRO – I am a cheapskate (or in nicer terms, a frugal person) and will be damned if I lose $40 over a race I don’t even complete.
  • CON – Boredom.  Simple as that.  The most I’ve ran during my training is 2 hours.  And though I love running normally (just 30-45 minutes usually), when I hit that one hour mark, my brain starts to go numb and I get bored.  However, I’ve done all my training by myself, so hopefully with the energy of the day, lots of people around me, and some new tunes on my Ipod (thanks to my Mom-in-law for the bday gift card!), I won’t get too bored.
  • PRO – This is a one time thing for me; the only shot I’m giving myself to complete such a goal.  Or at least I’m mentally telling myself that…..it’s do or die. No second chances.  In my head I considered the commitment you have to put towards training for a half, but in reality, it’s even harder.  At least for me.  I don’t have much free time as it is, and to use whatever precious moments I have to go run for an hour and half is kind of tough some days.  I just can’t imagine training again like this when my kiddos are little.  Hoping this “one time thing” motivation will help me make it across the finish line!
  • CON – It’s a 7:30 in the morning race.  Ughhh!! The only thing I do well before 8 a.m. is grumble, drool on my pillow, and give death stares to anyone who dares tries to have a real conversation with me before my morning coffee kicks in.  To say I’m not a morning person is putting it kindly.  So yeah.  Running an insane amount so early in the day will not work in my favor.  Also, the race is an hour away so I might have to get up even earlier just to drive and get there on time.  Double ugghhh!
  • PRO – This is the final and most important.  Totally stealing the words from my friend Liz, I am unabashedly “prideful and stubborn”.  Case in point- I once did 50 pushups in a bar in front of a group of friends all for a free beer. (And to impress this really cute mountain guy I liked named Steve………yeah, pushups in a bar for beer- he likes his girls classy 🙂 ).  Now I couldn’t do more than 10 to probably save my life, but when the pressure is on and everyone’s watching, my prideful, stubborn attitude digs in and I typically get ‘er done.  This, more than any training or more than any fancy shoes, will mostly likely be what gets me through it.  If I get through it. Gulp.

So there you have it.  My big 30th bday goal.  Or personal form of punishment.  Whatever you want to call it.  So on Sunday morning while you are lazily sipping on your cup of joe, watching cartoons on TV, or getting ready for church, know that #1 – I am extremely jealous of you, and #2 – any energetic vibes, prayers, or good thoughts you want to send my way, I’ll take them! 🙂

I don’t have any pics of me running, but I did find an OLD college pic of me and my friend Michelle (someone who’s ran several halves herself and got me thinking of running one), back at UGA right before we went on a run through some some trails together.  Ahhhh- that was fun!  Now getting to run and train w/her……that might be the only thing that ever gets me to consider doing this adventure again! Maybe. 🙂  Hopefully I’ll be able to write a post-run blog and be able to post a picture from the race.  Preferably of one without me being carried out on a stretcher.  Though you never know. 🙂

Here’s to year 30!!!!

P.S. – On a less whiny note, the season premier of “Mad Men” season 5 starts on Sunday too!!!!  Totally planning on recovering my sure-to-be jelly legs in front of the TV devouring the drama of Don Draper and crew…….woo-hoo! Who’s w/me? Any rabid “Mad Men” fans out there w/me??? Love that show!

9 responses »

  1. you will do fine,, if you slow down and need to walk, so be it- keep moving- when the going gets tough– the tough get going, love you- so proud of you- have fun and will be thinking of you during this as I sip my coffee and think of you– just be careful- if the body says rest- then slow and rest, love you!!!!!

  2. Girl you are going to ROCK it! You are seriously one of the most motivated, hard working women I know and I know you’re totally going to slay this thing! Know I’ll be praying for you on Sunday morning. You’re an inspiration girl, a half is on my bucket list so you’re going to have to give me some training tips 🙂

    ….and OH MY BLOG!!!! guess who FINALLY published a post 😉 …because you asked & I love you girl!

  3. Can’t wait to hear about your race and see some sweet pics of you crossing the finishing line on your feet with a smile (only because it’s FINALLY over!) on your face!! Proud of you!

Leave a Reply

