Better late than never?

Standard

I realize that Mother’s Day was yesterday, but I’m just now getting around to catching up on some blog reading and I just love, love, LOVE this post by Ann Voskamp and wanted to pass it along.  It’s called “For the Mother who fears failure“.  Unfortunately that is a category I often fall into.  Especially on those days when my patience feels so thin and my temper feels so hot.  When I have to count to 3 for the hundredth time or send a certain three-year old to the time-out corner again and again.  When my energy is so low that I’m just scraping through the motions, not feeling 100% present.  When questions and situations arise and I have absolutely no clue as to what the “right” answer is.  Especially knowing that the weight of those decisions, the paths my choices take, will somehow shape the little minds and hearts of these beautiful girls of mine.  It’s all enough to make you feel like a mess of a mom sometimes. 

And in my heart I know that’s not the truth.  That those are lies that the deceiver likes to whisper  in hopes of taking my eyes off of Him.  But knowing that doesn’t mean those lies never seep in.  They sometimes do.  And I think Ann’s post just gets right to the heart of the matter, offering a bit of grace in this craziness we call motherhood.  I especially like how she describes always feeling like she would get her stuff together, her issues figured out, before becoming a mom, before having to shepherd a little one around this upside down world.  I always think that too……”just let me get myself right and then I’ll be a better mom….”  Of course we’ll never totally be right or perfect or all together.  And thankfully we’re not called to.  Again, that’s His job, not ours. 🙂 But it’s still good to know that in the midst of our mistakes, we can still be loving moms.  She writes, “It’s not that you aren’t going to blow it. It is what you do with it when you do”.  Just love that!

Anyways- take a hop over and read it if you can.  It’s really, really good! 🙂  For the Mother who fears failure

P.S.- Bonus that she’s an amazingly BEAUTIFUL writer!  Check out her book, One Thousand Gifts, if you can.  It could change your life! It’s that good!

One response »

Leave a Reply

