Need a Mother’s Day Gift???

Standard

First off, if you are my mom (and you know who you are!!) you must immediately stop reading this post. Thanks! Everyone else may proceed….

So one thing I kind of pride myself on is being a good gift-giver.  Not that I’m great because I spend lots of money or anything like that, but rather I really enjoy putting a lot of thought into getting/finding/making just the right gift.  The one that fits someone’s personality to a tee.  Or one that they’ve casually mentioned wanting a zillion years ago and have completely forgotten about and then I hopefully can surprise them with it.  I truly just find so much joy in getting a personalized, meaningful little something for the loved ones in my life – it’s so much fun!

Well, with all that said, I have completely dropped the ball on the gift-giving department for Mother’s Day this year.  We were out of town for Easter and then the next weekend we had a guest visiting us and between that and all the other busyness of life, I just couldn’t get it together.  Sure I could have just run to Target and found some cute gifts, but they probably wouldn’t have been the specialized ones I like to hunt down.  And forget making a picture-of-the-girls kind of thing…..no time for that this year.   So waking up today in complete defeat I decided to just cave and order a bouquet of flowers for my mom and for Steve’s mom.  And that’s totally fine and beautiful and there’s nothing wrong with that at all!  But it still just didn’t feel right. 

Lucky for me I was talking to my good friend Amy today about the whole Mother’s Day gift thing and she had the perfect solution that she blogged about over at her site.  So what’s the amazing gift idea for moms??? A birth kit!!  (bet you didn’t guess that one! 🙂 ) 

For only $10 you can purchase 5 (yes 5!!) birthing kits in your mom’s name and help save the lives of 5 mothers over in Papua New Guinea.  Over there 1 in 7 women die in child birth simply because they lack a few basic tools.  Tools like a bar of soap, a plastic sheet, pieces of string,  gauze squares, a sterile blade, and a pair of gloves.  Seriously.  That’s it.  Those few and simple items are enough to create a birth kit that can save the life of a woman as she works hard to bring a new life into this world.  Coming from a fancy, Western-medicine world where I was lucky enough to give birth in a fully equipped, sterile hospital, it’s hard to fathom that just a few basic items can make the difference between a mother living or dying during labor.  Just crazy.

So all this is to say, if you haven’t gotten your mom a Mother’s Day present yet, or even if you have and would like to give her something else, consider a birth kit.  I think it will be one of the best gifts you could ever give her!  Moms are notorious for being selfless, generous souls who are always taking care of others. What better way to thank her and honor her than by helping  take care of another mom out there??  I think she will love it! 🙂

2 responses »

  1. How fun! Look at you spreading the word. . .I actually need to order mine tonight. I think our moms will love it, and I feel a whole lot better about this than paying $80.00 for flowers that look as if they are worth $12.

  2. My sweet baby girl! Thank you for this gift of life for someone on the other side of the world, that I will in no way meet in this world but by the Grace of God will hopefully meet in heaven one day. These birth kits can save the life of someone who could save a village. I am truly humbled and will keep this close to my heart! And thank you Amy for the wonderful gift of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

