>Welcome to my Crib…..Georgia’s nursery

Standard

>So we’ve been in our house for 4 and 1/2 months and I’m just now getting around to posting pictures…..sorry! It’s just that I have a million little projects for each room, and I don’t want to post pics until they are done. Or mostly done. And this weekend I finally finished Georgia’s room, so that’s why it’s the first one I’m sharing.

I have had so much fun decorating our house and making it a home. Something that is comfortable and reflects our style. Or rather my style; Steve isn’t Mr. Decorator Dude, even though I do always ask for his input and take whatever opinions he has into consideration. (FYI- his opinion usually concurs with the cheapest option….ha ha!) Since we’ve been married (4.5 yrs.), this is the first home we’ve owned that I’ve been able to really decorate and put my own spin on. Otherwise it’s been apartments, rental homes, and a house that we knew we would sell quickly, which meant everything was pretty bland and buyer friendly. So I’ve been dreaming about putting together a home for the last few years- collecting ideas here and there and storing them away until the right time. And now it’s here and the wait and anticipation has made the enjoyment of our home all that much sweeter.

Now as far as my style, I don’t really know what it would be classified as. I just know what I like and what I don’t like. I like colors (greens, yellows, pinks, and purples are my faves. Don’t like reds and oranges). I like homemade touches. I like things with a vintage feel, as though there is a history to them. I like to piece together rooms, rather than buy an entire set of something. I like shabby chic. I like simple and non-cluttered (of course some might still find our house a bit cluttered! ha!). I like it when everything looks light and airy and open. And most of all, I like things CHEAP! We don’t have the big bucks to spend on furniture and decor (even if we did, I doubt that we’d buy fancy, expensive items), and I have fun hunting down a bargain.

On to Georgia’s room – for both girls I tend to be drawn towards more of an old-timey, vintage style. If that’s what you’d call it. No modern, sassy, girl-power looks for my girls. Instead, I think of words like “sweet”, “innocent”, “timeless”, “soft”, and “feminine”. Those are the emotions I want to feel (and hope they feel too) in their rooms, if that makes any sense. I want to one day look back at a picture of their rooms and not feel like it screamed 2011. So onto Georgia’s little nursery…..

First off, this is what the room looked like before i got my peptobismol paintbrush involved.  I think it was just a spare room for the previous owners b/c they only had 1 kid at the time and didn’t really need to use it too much.  sorry the picture quality is bad.  i actually never took any “before” pics of the house, but i stole these from the MLS on the internet when it was listed. shhhhh!!! don’t tell! 🙂

BEFORE:

 

 AFTER:
doesn’t get much girly-er than pink! not knowing if i’ll ever have another daughter, i decided to just be cliche and go with pink. plus Georgia seems to have such an “old soul”, if you will, and i think an antique, pink room really fits her personality. it was very hard finding the right shade of pink that didn’t look like pepto! ha ha!

the closet originally had dark bi-folds that i didn’t like, so i used this old shower curtain i had. the pattern matches perfectly to the pink and it’s much easier to open and close. plus there are some glittery pink flower hooks on top that are just glitzy enough. forgot to take a pic of them, oops!

spent $25 for her crib. worked at a consignment sale last year and workers got to shop first, and it was totally worth the 8 hour shift! bedding was just cream, which i used in bailey’s nursery b/c i wanted to reuse it for future kiddos. glad i made that choice!

dresser/changing table. wanted solid wood (made the mistake of wood composit before and learned my lesson!) and wanted it white. found this at a hodgepodge furniture/decor store called The Pink House for $125. good price for solid wood! and i think the shape is beautiful!

originally i had a wooden glider from a consignment sale and i had my friend Caroline (who sold us this house!) make cushions for it.  and it was great.  but then it died.  stopped actually rocking and literally fell apart.  boo!  so i saved up some money and splurged on this cushy thing. LOVE IT!!! got it from Walmart of all places and got free shipping to the store.  it’s super comfy and i can clean the covers and it’s just perfect!

love these things! white pom-poms i bought from Etsy for $20. fun and whimsical and they really add some pop to the room
ok, you might laugh at me for this (Amy!), but here’s the deal. i can’t sew or knit or anything like that and i wanted to do something handmade for all my children as a keepsake for them. so when Bailey was born i took all the beautiful flowers people gave me in the hospital and dried them and tore them up into pieces and hotgluedthem to an outline of her name and then framed it. it is super time-consuming and very tedious, but i love the result. so of course i had to do one for Georgia. this project alone will stop me from every giving future kids a name with more than 7 letters! ha ha!

$10 coat rack from The Pink House

my friend Kelly made this. so special and so cute!!! i will always treasure it (and hope GA does too one day!)

picture wall- love how i can rotate pics easily. look how many people love her! she’s so lucky 🙂
pictures my mom bought for GA (from Tues. Mornings i think??).  she said they remind her of our prissy little girl and i totally agree! and i think the colors and frames go perfectly w/her room!
cute little frame that’s appropriately next to her closet. $5 from The Pink House (seriously- if you ever come to Ashevilleand like cheap and shabby chic, you gotta stop there!)

changing table stuff. and usually some wipes are there too, but i removed them for the pic
framed hymn. bought when i was pregnant and i loved reading it often. thinking of God creating new life in my belly and all across the world is just so hopeful to me….

these booties were a gift and they are from an organization that helps African women sell them in order to make a living for their families. just beautiful

didn’t have a footprint/handprintkit like i did when Bailey was born, so instead i just used a pink stamp pad on some thick parchment paper and glued it to this pretty frame. of course i didn’t get around to it till GA was 6 months old! her hands and feet were much smaller when she was born, i promise! 🙂

the verse we picked out for her so one of the cute quirks about our house (built in the early 70’s) is that each of the 3 bedrooms has this plaster ceiling and the builders must have felt really creative on the days they did the ceilings b/c each one has a different pattern on it. it’s pretty cool! GA’s is the “Rainbow” room. B’s is the flower room, and our is the wave room. i’ll post all the ceiling pics when i do the other rooms. really neat i think.
finally- one of my favorite things about her room is that when you look out the window there is a HUGE, beautiful magnolia tree. so Southern for my Southern girl!
So that’s it for the grand tour of Ms. Georgia’s room. Of course, how could i have a post and not include pics of the darling herself? Here is GA actually enjoying her room….
she loves the feel of this shag rug. bailey loves it too and always rolls around naked on it after a bath. ha!

thinking deep thoughts in her crib

chillin on the changing table
Finally, I just want to say that as much fun as I have decorating and painting our house, I really just feel super blessed to even have a home, a place to stay warm and rest our heads and keep us safe. I realize it’s a luxury that many do not have. And being able to paint and have fun with it is just icing on the cake. We are so blessed and fortunate and I thank God every day for providing for us!
P.S. – I know some people think it’s rude to talk about the prices of things, and while I sometimes agree with that, I did include them on this post just to give encouragement that there are good deals out there to find! I know I get ideas from other people and I just wanted to share. 🙂
8 responses »

  1. >Love it. The pom-poms and dresser are my favorites. Actually, scratch that. I love the name thing you did. VERY awesome. 🙂 May have to steal that one one day.

  2. >such great work renee!!! and i like that you shared the prices – i think it's good to learn to decorate on a budget. i enjoy my items more when i pay less for them. georgia looks adorable as always – i'm so glad i got to kiss her chubby cheeks. love you!-michelle

  3. >Oh my, I am in LOVE with Georgia's room! It is absoultely beautiful Renee, you have quite a knack for decorating and I'm guessing I must have the same "style" as you…whateve that may be…as every last detail is just perfect! I think the ceiling looks like clouds in the pics, they are just dreamy & what a quaint detail!My favorite is the life verse for Georgia though, we've done that for our boys as well & Owen's just now memorizing his, oh be still my heart!We ARE coming to visit ya'll in Asheville…and I mean soon. Really, expect my call in the next day or two to talk about dates :)…and when we come, can we PUHLEEZE go to the Pink House?!?!Love you girl, bravo on GA's room…Young House Love would be proud, in fact, they should totally feature you!!!Love & hugs to the Montys 🙂

  4. >That is the sweetest nursery for Georgia!!!!! You did such an awesome job!! You know I love to share in the celebration of bargains! The best part is the keepsakes that you have done for your girls. They are going to love having those for their whole lives. Now bring some of that creativity up here and help me with your neice or nephew's nursery:)

  5. >I love GA's room! And I laughed when I read about how you want to describe her room. You mean you don't want "Princess", "Spoiled", or "I get what I want" all over her room?! Sometimes it's hard having a girl and trying to find tasteful things for them. I adore the pom poms. Can't wait to see the rest of your casa.

  6. >very pretty and I agree with Steve on doing it with bargains and a little (or a lot) of work,,this is great and very proud of you and Steve,,ya,ll are great parents and great to see both of you enjoy being mom and dad!!

  7. >Oh my gosh, I haven't even seen the pom-poms! I love the room. It's crazy what you guys have done with your house. It was cute before, but now it is just so you!Fav pic for sure is GA in her crib. Adorable.Plus, glad to see Ruby made the picture board. Even if she is strangling Georgia!

Leave a Reply

