>Mama’s Extra Special Day!

Standard

>Not only is today Mother’s Day, but it’s also my mom’s 50th birthday!! Yay! Talk about a doubly-special day! (I tried to make it triply-special by giving her another grandbaby today, but unless little one decides to come within the next 6 hours, it’s just not gonna happen! ha ha!) Unfortunately I couldn’t be with my mom today, but that’s ok. We spent time together last weekend and she’ll be visiting again soon once baby comes.

But for her birthday this year we wanted to do something really special. So we got a lot of her friends and family to write a little something about what Mom means to them. It was so moving to see how much of a positive impact my mom has made on other people’s lives – she’s just one of those special people. So we took all the things people wrote and typed them all up in different fonts and added some pictures and scrapbooked the whole thing together. I have never scrapbooked in my life, but I bought a little “all-in-one” kit from Wal-mart and it made the process so easy and fun!

Although I could write like a million pages about how awesome my mom is, I decided to just share what I wrote for her scrapbook. It pretty much sums it up . . .

Catherine Morris
Outwardly it might appear that between me and Mom, I have the “stronger” personality – a bit more stubborn and headstrong and independent and forceful (I have a heavy dose of Dad in me). But the truth is, Mom is and always will be the strongest of us all.

She has the strength of compassion, forgiveness, patience, understanding, humility, and gentleness….. these traits are much harder to live out than any other. But Mom does. Every day of her life. That is why she is my hero; she has a spirit that I hope to emulate. And it’s not just her own- it’s the loving spirit of God inside her. That is why so many are constantly drawn to her, myself included – it’s because she is a beautiful Daughter of Christ! And that kind of relationship cannot help but radiate outwardly to others.

Mom shows her love to all- and not just by words, but by actions. Picking up a homeless woman off the street……volunteering to provide clean-up after a flood…….dropping everything to babysit at the last minute……..creating a fun “stress-free” basket of goodies when a soon-to-be-bride starts to worry too much……..sending thoughtful and encouraging notes in the mail for no particular reason at all……..the list can go on and on. Mom has a true servant’s heart and there is no doubt in my mind that the day she meets her Maker, He will greet her with a big hug and the words, “Well done my good and faithful servant”.

Growing up she was my mom- always providing for me, disciplining me, teaching me, allowing me to grow and learn on my own. Now she is not only my mom, but my absolute best friend. She is the first person I think of and call whenever I need advice, want to share some good news, need some comforting, or just want to pass the time with some conversation. I feel so privileged to have her in my life. I thank God for allowing me to be born to her as a daughter……it’s really not fair at all that not everyone out there gets a Mom like me……I’m just too blessed.

And now that I am a mom myself, I realize just how tough a job being a mother can be (and Bailey is nowhere near as troublesome as I was!). But luckily I have the best example to draw from and to go to when I need help! Bailey adores her Grandcat and it’s a relationship that I love to watch blossom!

I love you Mom and look forward to learning from you and sharing happy memories with you over these next 50 years! Happy Birthday!

Mother’s Day 2009 – me and my brother w/our Mama

Bailey with her Grandcat (poor B. looks so tired!)

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there……and not just the ones with kids here on earth, but also to those who have lost children or those who are waiting and will be blessed with children in the future. Lots of love 🙂

2 responses »

  1. >Yes, Renee you are the BEST daughter ever! What you did for me made me feel extra special and I will cherish it along with all the kinds words everyone wrote! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

