>My hump, my hump, my lovely lady lumps!

Standard

>Do you the title of this post? Not sure a baby belly was exactly what Fergie had in mind when she wrote that song, but I think it’ll work. ha ha!

So for my birthday this year I was kind of loud and obnoxious about what I wanted Steve to get me for a gift. Usually I just say “nothing” and gifts aren’t a big deal, but this time I did actually want something particular and I let it be known – professional maternity pictures! We don’t really spend money on this kind of thing b/c I have a decent camera and would rather just take the pics myself and save our dough. But since I needed to be in the pictures this time and not just behind the camera, and since we had never had professional pics of our entire family, I figured this would be a good opportunity. And I’m so happy we did it!

I looked for local photographers here in Asheville, but they were either crazy expensive or they had these weird goddess-naked-in-the-field maternity shoots that just weren’t my cup of tea. (I only tell that b/c it’s pretty artsy and hippy and a typical Asheville story that makes me laugh!) But then I remembered my friend Hannah had taken some family pics a while back that had turned out so beautiful (of course her family can’t really take a bad picture!) and so I looked to her photographer friend Karen Baker and we set something up. It worked out perfectly b/c she had an available slot for the one day we were in Georgia after our Charleston trip. Meant to be!

Now I’ve got to say- I was super nervous before our little photo shoot. I mean I LOVE taking pictures, but to actually be in them by myself makes me a little self-conscious and awkward. But Karen was THE absolute nicest person and made me feel so relaxed and comfortable. I actually ended up having a really good time, which surprised me. And not only do I love her style of pictures (the lighting and angles and the natural/non-posey shots), but I also love her way of photographing. It’s obvious that she has a genuine passion for capturing special moments and she really just goes with the flow. Like the pictures with Steve and Bailey – she was actually photographing me at the time and they were just over in the field playing with the flowers and she saw the opportunity and ran over and got the shots. I just love that! She is also great with little kids who can sometimes be a bit squirmy with shoots. She did anything necessary to make Bailey laugh and look at the camera- even putting sticks on her head and throwing grass in the air – ha ha! She has a two year old son herself and loves kids and knows how they work! Needless to say, if you’re looking for a photographer in the Atlanta area, I definitely recommend Karen Baker Photography!!

Ok, so on to the actual photographs. These are some of my absolute favorites (which was really hard to pick b/c I love them all!). Hope you enjoy!


If you want to see all the pictures check out this slideshow Karen put together. It has the absolute sweetest song to it (so turn up your speakers) that brings tears to my eyes every time I hear it and see it. Hormonal much?? ๐Ÿ™‚

Maternity slideshow

4 responses »

  1. >AAAHHH, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THESE!!!! Karen sent me a link to some of your pics, but I'm so excited to see some new ones I hadn't seen before….speaking of a beautiful family who can't take a bad picture, um, HELLO?! these are ALL so gorgeous of the Monty family ๐Ÿ™‚ Love ya'll!!!

  2. >renee!! absolutely gorgeous! I was so excited about these I spelled your name with three e's at first. love the blue door and your precious family. the baby is officially allowed to come out now, right?

  3. >GORGEOUS!!!!! Karen did an awesome job, but how she could take a bad picture of such an adorable family??? and can I just say that I LOVE the song she used in your slideshow!

Leave a Reply

