>The Month of May

Standard

>Sometime within this month our baby will be born. Our second child. Bailey’s sibling. The little being that changes our sentences from child to children. Plural. Just those words, just the thought of it all happening so soon makes me so very, very happy.

Since I’m not having a scheduled c-section this time (fingers crossed!!!), there’s such a different kind of excitement and energy as we await #2’s arrival. Not that I of course wasn’t happy and excited with Bailey, but since her birth date was planned and set, there wasn’t the same electric buzz in the air every day as we wait for him or her to make an unannounced debut. And I like that. Different children, different pregnancies, different birth stories- both unique and beautiful and perfect in their own way. Though I am not at all a morning person, I find myself more energetic and smiley these days as I wake up. I’m just always thinking to myself, “Could this be the day we meet our second born? Will this be your first day on earth Little One??” I love this surprise, this unknown, this anticipation. And I know I am lucky and blessed to be able to experience it. It is an undeserved gift of grace and love. And I am thankful.

We went to a baby/labor class this weekend. It was so much fun! I loved learning about the three different stages of labor and all the technical body stuff that goes along with it. Completely fascinating and miraculous! To somewhat quote my husband: “After seeing and learning all that the body does to deliver a baby, it’s a wonder how someone could witness that and not believe in a god.” I couldn’t agree more. Though we left the class with a lot of helpful knowledge and practical tips, we also left with a sense of awe at the entire birthing process. And for the One who designed it. It’s pretty dang incredible. And it just made me more and more excited to experience it myself.

I’m also starting to feel excited about the possibility of having a natural birth with no medication. For some crazy reason, it’s something I’ve always wanted to do. I think when I was younger it was just because I wanted to see if I was tough enough to endure the pain. (Of course I also wanted to shave my head and join the Navy Seals after watching G.I. Jane for the same reason. Don’t ask me why……) But now it’s not so much to prove any sort of strength, but rather I just want to allow my body to do what it’s meant to do. And I’ve also heard and read from women who have had natural births that it can be an incredibly humbling, empowering, and spiritual experience all at the same time. That seems pretty amazing to me. I know that sometimes I can be too independent and rely on my own self too much to get through things, and I already know that if there’s any hope of me actually giving birth without meds, it’ll only be through relying on God for strength and leaning on Steve for support. Lessons I continually need to learn.

With regards to the medical stuff, the midwives I go to and the back-up OBGYN that I visited (all VBac patients must see one a month before delivery just in case) all seem to think I should have a successful VBac with no need for surgery. That is encouraging! The only tiny glitch is that I must go into labor on my own before 41 and 1/2 weeks. VBacs aren’t allowed to be induced (at least not at my midwife practice) and the OBYGN isn’t comfortable with letting VBacs go much longer past due dates because of certain risks.

But I’m not worrying about that possibility just yet. I still have a few weeks to go into labor on my own and I’m doing all the natural things I can to get it going. But mostly I’m just praying about it and trusting that however God wants this child to enter the earth, he or she will. Although my personal desire would be to have our baby delivered without surgery, I also feel that at the end of the day, just having a healthy baby in my arms is all that matters. I keep thinking of that Oleta Adams’ song “Get Here” which has the lyrics, “I don’t care how you get here……just get here if you can”. And that’s true. When all is said and done- whether it’s through another c-section, whether I use pain meds or not – no matter how he or she comes to me, I am blessed. πŸ™‚

As far as other pregnancy stuff goes, I’m feeling good. Actually have had tons of energy lately, which has helped to feed into my nesting frenzy. Seriously- every drawer, every closet, every piece of paper, every item, big or small, in this apartment has been cleaned, organized, or thrown out. Poor Bailey can barely play with her toys before I feel the urge to put them all back in their appropriate places. Don’t worry- I resist the urge……she’s two and needs toys and that’s just how life is and will be and I don’t need to obsess. I’ve also been sleeping surprisingly well – knock on wood! Baby stuff is all put away and ready – bassinet in our room, changing table and glider in the third bedroom, and wipes and diapers all stocked- baby can now come when ready! Names are mostly picked out (no Bear- yay!) and carseat is installed. Just need to pack a hospital bag and birth this baby.

Everyone keeps asking or saying comments to the effect of “Oh I bet you’re ready to have that kid now” or “Bet you’re over being pregnant, aren’t you?”, and while it’s true that I’m excited to meet him/her, I honestly don’t feel a huge rush to have my pregnancy over with. I know he/she will come at just the right time and our family of three will forever be changed into a family of four. I’m soaking up these last moments of just the three of us. I’ve had a good, healthy pregnancy and it’ll end when it’s suppose to- no need to wish it away any quicker πŸ™‚

So that’s it for now. All is good!

P.S.- I’m trying to gather a few things to help encourage me along during the labor- mainly some of my favorite, inspiring Bible verses and some uplifting and/or kick-butt songs for my I-pod. Words, whether written or in song, are a huge source of motivation for me and I’m hoping they’ll help me along in maybe having a natural birth. If you have a Bible verse or a song that you think would be encouraging and help me get from one contraction to another, please pass it along. I will need all the help I can get!

P.S.S. – One last thing – just b/c I want to have a natural birth doesn’t mean I think all women should. Just a personal decision each mom should make on her own w/o any judgement or pressure from other women. Just wanted to throw that out there! I get kind of annoyed with “mommy wars” and women who judge and criticize other moms and their choices…..we’re all just doing the best we can. But I guess that’s another post for another day…… ok, off soapbox now! πŸ™‚

4 responses »

  1. >oh friend. SO excited for you right now=) and take it for what it's worth, but your labor and delivery nurse friend in virginia agrees with the vbac precautions your OBGYN practice takes. sounds like you're in good hands!!! can't wait to see that sweet little baby! (and i can't wait to see bailey with him or her!)ps-my word thing for this comment is "mitch". that's not one of your boy names, is it??? πŸ˜‰

  2. >Okay so now I have tears streaming down my face & I think it's either the hormones (very possible!) but really more likely the fact that I'm not too far behind you in welcoming my 2nd child into the world as well…Either way, it was definitely the words "I know he/she will come at just the right time and our family of three will forever be changed into a family of four," that sent me over the edge πŸ˜‰ Oh so BEAUTIFULLY written Renee! Love it and LOVE YOU!!!Oh my, my, my…scripture to encourage an all natural VBac…okay, so the verse that comes to mind first is Phil 4:13: "I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength." You are super woman my friend & I applaud you for your determination & commitment to such an amazing birth plan, you go girl!

  3. >I'm so happy for you, Renee! And kudos to you for at least trying a natural birth. Bailey and the little one are so lucky to have you! I'm glad you're enjoying your pregnancy. It's sad (though understandable) when women are hating the last month of pregnancy. Good for you! You are such a positive person and I'm just so happy to be able to tag along on your journey this time! πŸ™‚

  4. >Renee…thinking of you during this magical time…soaking up the time with JUST Bailey….lifelong memories.btw…birthed Sara almost 30 years ago with a wonderful midwife drugfree…then Erin 2.5 years later…it is phenomenal to have a drugfree birth, but I agree….just get him or her here safely…that is all that really counts.Enjoy your tummy and crazy Bailey this last few days… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

