>Prayer Requests

Standard

>Wow. It just seems like it’s been one of those weeks where bad things are coming from all sides. Of course there’s a lot of good things too, but right now there are several things that are on my conscience.

1. Haiti – Doesn’t it seem like every few years a natural disaster like this strikes? The Tsunami, Hurricane Katrina, and now this earthquake. When they throw out numbers saying it could be upwards of tens of thousands of people that are dead, wow…..it just boggles my mind. I can’t even wrap my head around such a statistic. I always go back to 911 and remember what a devastating day that was and how its number of victims were just under 3,000. That alone is huge (of course just 1 is huge), but to multiply it by so many, it just doesn’t seem real. I believe God’s heart is breaking right now for all the pain that is happening in Haiti. And although it would seem easy to just get mad at Him and place the blame on Him, I don’t think that’s right- He knows and loves these people more than we could ever understand. When I go to Him with my questions and hurt over things like this, I feel His response is to tell me to not just empathize with their pain, but to DO something about it. An organization that Steve and I are involved with and feel secure in, is Compassion International. We did a lot of research before becoming involved in a nonprofit organization and this one has consistently been one of the top rated nonprofits for the last decade. It’s one that we both feel we can put our trust in, knowing that gifts are going to the right people. Knowing that they work in Haiti, I looked at their website last night and they’ve already set up a place to make donations. Here is the link if you want to look around and maybe make a donation yourself: http://www.compassion.com/

2. Joe and Catherine McKechnie: Joe was one of my youth counselors growing up and one of the most sincere, humble, and funny people I’ve ever met. Although I’m not 100% sure on all the exact details, I do know that he and his wife are expecting their second child, a daughter named Grace Ann, and apparently Catherine started having complications that caused her to go to the hospital. She’s only around 25 weeks along and they almost had to have an emergency c-section due to the complications. Thankfully that was not needed, but now she has to stay in the hospital for the remainder of her pregnancy. And obviously, the longer Grace Ann can stay in her Mom’s belly, the better. With my pregnancy I’ve been getting weekly email updates telling me how the baby is developing each week. Catherine is only a few weeks ahead of me, so I know there’s still a lot of critical development needed for the baby. That has just got to be such a scary situation for their family. And they have a toddler son David who I’m sure this is hard for as well- his mommy being in the hospital and he not understanding it all. I just pray that Grace Ann can go at least full term and that Joe and Catherine feel a sense of peace and calm through this trying time. Here is a website set up for people wanting to leave well wishes and who want to stay abreast of the situation. You have to just provide your name and email to have access, but that’s no big deal: http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/catherinemckechnie

3. My mom – Over the last year and half, my mom has been laid-off from two jobs due to the economy. One that she had for several years and one that she had for just one year. Although I think it’s been an emotional let down for her, it has also been a huge blessing in many ways. My mom is SUCH a hard worker and has the best work ethic and puts her heart into everything she does. Having this forced break has given her a chance to refresh her mind, body, and spirit. And selfishly, our family has loved it- we’ve gotten to spend a lot more time with her – she helped out a lot for my brother’s wedding and was there during the summer when Steve, Bailey, and I were living at their house. She’s also been able to make a few trips to visit us here in NC, which has been so much fun! Although she’s not actively pursuing a job in full force, she is keeping her ears open and waiting for the right job to come along, one where she can make a positive impact. She’s really been an inspiration to me through this whole thing, just wholly relying on God in the situation and trusting on His guidance, even though I’m sure worry and anxiety sometimes creep up. I’ve been praying for her a lot and I just know God has the perfect job for her somewhere. She did put in her first application this week and in many ways it’d be a great position for her. I just pray that if it’s meant to be, then God will make a way, and if it’s not, then she’ll continue to just rest in His timing and trust that it will all work out. My mom is one of my absolute best friends and a true hero for me. I’m so proud of her for so many reasons and I just get so excited thinking of the wonderful plans God has in store for her.

Well I know that’s a lot to pray for, but any words you could send to God on account of these things would mean so much. I certainly don’t understand God’s will a lot of the time, and that’s ok with me. He’s God, I’m not, and I don’t have to understand it all. But even with my lack of knowledge, I know and believe that He is Love, and though things don’t always make sense to me, I trust that somehow, someway, He will work for the good of those who love Him! He is a mighty God and one I am so proud to serve. Thank you for any prayers (or Haiti donations) that you can give! 🙂

One response »

  1. >My dearest daughter, I feel so humbled at your loving, caring words for me and yet so very undeserving to be grouped with these much more deserving prayer requests but I am very grateful just the same! I thank God for your sweet sensitive spirit!

Leave a Reply

