>Under Contract!

Standard

>In the famous words of Dora the Explorer (she’s all the rage in our house right now)-WE DID IT! WE DID IT! WE DID IT! YEAH!!!

After waiting all weekend and only getting a discouraging counter-offer, I woke up this morning to our agent calling and telling us the buyers finally decided to agree to our terms and meet us in the middle. YAYYYY!!!!! Isn’t compromise nice??

Honestly I think I’m still in shock over the whole thing. Steve and I had sort of written the house off in our minds – I was even looking at other prospects on the internet – and I just felt like it was too much of a perfect house. I mean usually you have to compromise something on a house….location, yard, price, etc…….and this one was truly ideal for us. No compromise. It was like the builders took our exact desires and hopes in a home and put it all in this house. Too good to be true.

So when the offer process started out a bit dismal, I began to set myself up for disappointment. We knew the answer would be coming in this morning, so all last I just prayed for God to take away MY desires and let me be content in whatever He had chosen for us, whatever His desires were. I realize I make that sound super easy, but it really wasn’t for me. The thing is this: I’ve moved about 12 times in the last 10 years (exciting and exhausting!) and I’ve really wanted to give my tape guns a break and pick a “forever” house that we could settle into and raise our family in. I guess you could say there was a good deal of expectation and pressure on whatever house we got. But while wanting to get just the right “forever” house, I’m afraid I was getting too consumed with a certain ideal or becoming too picky. I mean truthfully, in the end, I should just be thankful to have any sort of roof over my head (which I am!)- especially in today’s times. We are already so blessed in a zillion ways with our health and family and friends, so to stress about finding the perfect house seemed a bit extravagant, if that makes sense.

Basically what I’m trying to say with all this rambling is just that this house has been a big dream of mine, of ours. And so totally giving it to God was a bit tough. A bit scary. I don’t know why it should be- I’ve given Him my heart and He’s taken such good care of it, so why should anything else be different?? But I was being selfish and a little bratty and holding onto my dream a bit too tightly. But thankfully, through love and grace, He understands. He waited. He took what tiny faith I had and used it to unclench my fist, to let go.

And of course what happened after I did that? He gave me the desires of my heart. He truly cares about our desires and about the tiny details of our lives. He is a personal God- not far away and removed. He’s in the midst of it all, if we allow Him to be. Seriously, how did we little human get so lucky???

Now that’s not to say that I think by just praying and giving things to God that things will always work out the way we want it to. Definitely not. There have been other situations where I have given things to God and they haven’t turned out the way I would have planned them. But I am not God. (Thank goodness!!). However, in the end, no matter how things turn out, I do believe the glory will be His. Whether we see and understand it in this life, or in the next.

So anyways. Ok, I don’t know how I ended up starting out with Dora and just being excited over our contract to jumping all over the map and talking all sorts of God stuff. Ahhhhh!!!! Even I don’t make sense to me!! But whatever! It’s how my crazy mind works I guess and since it’s my blog and I guess I can be as scattered as I want. ha ha! I’m just too happy and excited to edit and make this a more cohesive and sensible post.

Anyways- we close October 30th and I just can’t wait! Also, one of my very favorite things about the house is that it has an awesome guest room with a full bathroom in the basement (it’s finished, not dark, creepy, and full of spiders- hee hee!), so we expect many visitors as soon as we finish unpacking! Or if you want to help unpack, that’s ok too! 🙂
Again, thank-you to all who have prayed for us and supported us and loved us. We have so many cheerleaders on our side- loved ones who have wished us the best, even though it usually meant leaving them and moving farther away. Did I mention how blessed we feel?? Trite and true- God is good!!!
4 responses »

Leave a Reply

